Early Career Scientists Symposium 2023

Dec 11. till Dec 15.

Early Career Scientists Symposium 2023

An opportunity for early career scientists to get inspired by speakers from a diverse range of career paths.

11/12/20232023-12-11 - 15/12/20232023-12-15


Early career scientists have developed a wealth of both generic and specialist skills opening a large number of possible career paths both within and beyond academic research. One of the problems that many PhD students, postdocs and other early career scientists find is a significant lack of career advice about the breadth of opportunities open to them both within academia and in commercial industry.

To help junior scientists understand more about options, opportunities and career paths in science, the Postdoc committee at Diamond Light Source is delighted to announce the Early Career Scientist Symposium 2023, which will be held online, from Monday 11th to Friday 15th December 2023.

The event will feature a number of speakers from a very diverse range of science careers, who will discuss their experiences and share advice on finding the best job opportunities. During the Symposium, attendees will have the unique opportunity to attend a Career Management Strategy Masterclass and participate in a Q&A roundtable, providing an opportunity to discuss topics directly with the speakers. 


  • David Abergel: Chief Editor at Nature Physics
  • Judith Armitage: Emeritus Fellow Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry, Oxford University 
  • Jim Al-Khalili: Theoretical physicist, author and broadcaster
  • Gustavo Alvares Lima: Research Associate at Astex Pharmaceuticals
  • Judith ArmitageEmeritus Fellow Molecular and Cellular Biochemistr at Oxford University
  • Martin Bell: European Patent Attorney at Marks & Clerk
  • Julien Bobroff: Professor of Physics at Université Paris-Saclay
  • Gianluigi Botton: CEO at Diamond Light Source
  • Sofia Caria: Senior Scientist at Evotec
  • Claire Corkhill: Professor of Mineralogy and of Radioactive Waste Management at Bristol University
  • Priya Guha: Member of the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Board
  • Rohanah Hussain: Senior Beamline Scientist at Diamond Light Source
  • Mike Moss: Alumni Careers Programme Manager at Oxford University
  • Chris Nicklin: Science Group Leader at Diamond Light Source
  • Liam O'Ryan: Chief Technology Officer at Quantum Detectors
  • Sam Pitman: Particle Accelerator Mechanical Design Engineer at ISIS
  • Claire Pizzey: Deputy Head of Industrial Liaison at Diamond Light Source
  • Benedikt Rösner: Scientist and Project Leader for X-ray Optics at the Paul Scherrer Institut
  • Victor Rogalev: Senior Software Engineer at Diamond Light Source
  • Shiva Shirani: Post-Doc/Synchrotron & Laboratory X-ray Imaging Researcher at the University of Malaga, and Social Media content creator
  • Arya Thampi: Senior Acquisitions Editor at World Scientific Publishing
  • Silvana Westbury: Project Manager at Lightsources.org
  • Drew Weissman: 2023 Nobel Laureate in Medicine, Director of the Penn Institute for RNA Innovation and Professor at the University of Pennsylvania

Registration & other details

There is no fee to attend the symposium, but registration is mandatory. Spaces are limited, and will be offered on a first-come, first-serve basis. 

Registration is open until Friday 8th December 2023 at 17:00 (GMT). 


Once your registration is submitted and confirmed, further details (including the final agenda, link to join the event, and info about the speakers) will be sent to you via email closer to the event.

If you have any queries at all, please contact the Diamond Events team.

Provisional agenda

Monday 11th December 10:15 10:30 Welcome from the organising committee
10:30 11:00 Priya Guha
11:00 11:30 Benedikt Rösner
11:30 12:00 Victor Rogalev
12:00 12:30 Rohanah Hussain
Tuesday 12th December 14:00 14:30 Gustavo Alvares Lima
14:30 15:00 Liam O'Ryan
15:00 15:30 Martin Bell
15:30 16:00 Jim Al-Khalili
16:00 16:30 Claire Pizzey
Wednesday 13th December 14:00 14:30 David Abergel
14:30 15:00 Silvana Westbury
15:00 15:30 Judith Armitage
15:30 16:00 Sofia Caria
16:00 16:30 Gianluigi Botton
16:30 17:00 Drew Weissman
Thursday 14th December 10:30 11:00 Claire Corkhill
11:00 11:30 Shiva Shirani
11:30 12:00 Arya Thampi
12:00 12:30 Julien Bobroff
12:30 13:00 Sam Pitman
Friday 15th December 09:00 12:00 Michael Moss - Career Strategy Masterclass

Organising Committee

  • Emily Cross​​​​​​
  • James Le-Houx
  • Alex Louat
  • Stefania Mazzorana
  • Hans Pfalzgraf
  • Silvana Westbury

This event is organised by


and kindly supported by


Diamond Light Source

Diamond Light Source is the UK's national synchrotron science facility, located at the Harwell Science and Innovation Campus in Oxfordshire.

Copyright © 2022 Diamond Light Source


Diamond Light Source Ltd
Diamond House
Harwell Science & Innovation Campus
OX11 0DE

See on Google Maps

Diamond Light Source® and the Diamond logo are registered trademarks of Diamond Light Source Ltd

Registered in England and Wales at Diamond House, Harwell Science and Innovation Campus, Didcot, Oxfordshire, OX11 0DE, United Kingdom. Company number: 4375679. VAT number: 287 461 957. Economic Operators Registration and Identification (EORI) number: GB287461957003.