Science Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) advises the CEO and the Science Directors on the scientific and technical questions impacting on the specification, design, commissioning and operation of the facility; experimental and user support facilities; opportunities for scientific exploitation of the facility and other matters identified by the Diamond Executive. The SAC Membership from the May 2024 SAC meeting is as follows:

  • Dr Tom Hase (Chair), University of Warwick (UK)
  • Prof Kristina Djinović-Carugo (Vice-Chair), EMBL Grenoble (France)
  • Dr Paul Adams, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (USA)
  • Dr Elke Arenholz, Pacific North Western Laboratory (USA)
  • Prof Rohit Bhargava, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (USA)
  • Dr Dina Carbone, MAX IV (Sweden)
  • Prof Peter Dowding, Infineum (DISCo Representative)
  • Prof Chris Hardacre, University of Manchester (UK)
  • Prof Phil King, University of St Andrew (UK)
  • Prof Matt Rosseinsky, University of Liverpool (UK)
  • Prof Andrea Russell, University of Southampton (UK) - (Chair of the DUC)
  • Prof Christian Schroer, DESY (Germany)
  • Prof Stephen Skinner, Imperial College London (UK) 
  • Prof Xiaodong Zhang, Imperial College London (UK) 
  • Prof Elizabeth Wright, University of Wisconsin-Madison (USA)


Diamond Light Source

Diamond Light Source is the UK's national synchrotron science facility, located at the Harwell Science and Innovation Campus in Oxfordshire.

Copyright © 2022 Diamond Light Source


Diamond Light Source Ltd
Diamond House
Harwell Science & Innovation Campus
OX11 0DE

See on Google Maps

Diamond Light Source® and the Diamond logo are registered trademarks of Diamond Light Source Ltd

Registered in England and Wales at Diamond House, Harwell Science and Innovation Campus, Didcot, Oxfordshire, OX11 0DE, United Kingdom. Company number: 4375679. VAT number: 287 461 957. Economic Operators Registration and Identification (EORI) number: GB287461957003.