Science Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) advises the CEO and the Science Directors on the scientific and technical questions impacting on the specification, design, commissioning and operation of the facility; experimental and user support facilities; opportunities for scientific exploitation of the facility and other matters identified by the Diamond Executive. The SAC Membership as at May 2020 is as follows:

  • Dr Tom Hase (Chair), University of Warwick (UK)
  • Dr Lisa Miller, (Vice-Chair), Brookhaven National Lab/NSLS-II (USA)
  • Dr John Barker, Evotec (DISCo Representative)
  • Dr Bridget Carragher, New York Center for Structural Biology (USA)
  • Prof John SO Evans, University of Durham (UK)
  • Prof Philip Hofmann, Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • Prof Peter Hatton, University of Durham (UK)
  • Prof Ken Lewtas, Lewtas, Lewtas Scientific (DISCo Representative)
  • Dr Adrian Mancuso, European XFEL
  • Prof Arwen Pearson, The Hamburg Centre of Ultrafast Imaging (Germany)
  • Dr Jörg Raabe, PSI (Switzerland)
  • Prof Andrea Russell, University of Southampton (UK) - (Chair of the DUC)
  • Prof Mary Ryan, Imperial College (UK)
  • Prof Christian Schroer, DESY (Germany)
  • Prof Sam Shaw, University of Manchester (UK)
  • Prof Titia Sixma, Netherlands Cancer Institute (Netherlands)
  • Prof Moniek Tromp, University of Groningen (Netherlands)


Diamond Light Source

Diamond Light Source is the UK's national synchrotron science facility, located at the Harwell Science and Innovation Campus in Oxfordshire.

Copyright © 2020 Diamond Light Source


Diamond Light Source Ltd
Diamond House
Harwell Science & Innovation Campus
OX11 0DE

See on Google Maps

Diamond Light Source® and the Diamond logo are registered trademarks of Diamond Light Source Ltd