Diamond Industrial Science Committee

As part of the process of engaging with the industrial science community, Diamond established the Diamond Industrial Science Committee (DISCo). 

The Terms of Reference of DISCo are to: 

  • Advise the CEO and Directors of Diamond on opportunities for industry to be engaged in research at Diamond, and the best means for promoting such opportunities;
  • Identify industrial research priorities that will help shape the operational strategy of Diamond - including the best way to exploit the current suite of beamlines and to develop the case for investment in future beamlines;
  • Develop best practice for industrial engagement with Diamond, including the nature of research collaboration agreements, the handling of IP and the dissemination of research outcomes;
  • Carry out other tasks as agreed with the CEO and the Directors of Diamond.

The current membership of DISCo is:

Dr Malcolm Skingle, GlaxoSmithKline (Chair)
Dr John Barker, Evotec
Dr Andrew Barrow, Rolls-Royce
Prof. Dave Brown, Institut de Recherches Servier
Dr Liz Carpenter, Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Europe) Ltd
Dr Paul Collier, Johnson Matthey
Dr Rob Cooke, Sosei Heptares
Dr Cheryl Doherty, GlaxoSmithKline 
Prof. Peter Dowding, Infineum
Prof. Jonathan Hyde, NNL
Dr Andrew Johnson, IQE
Dr Olga Kazakova, NPL
Prof. Ken Lewtas, Lewtas Science & Technologies
Dr Ellen Norman, RSSL
Dr Richard Storey, AstraZeneca
Dr Pamela Williams, Astex Pharmaceuticals

along with Shareholder & Stakeholder representatives.

Previous membership:

Peter Ash, Johnson Matthey
Andrew Burgess, ICI
Michael Butler, Unilever
John Casci, Johnson Matthey
David Clarke, Rolls-Royce
Graham Fairhall, National Nuclear Laboratory
Mike Goosey, Shell Global Solutions
Harren Jhoti, Astex Therapeutics
Matthew Johnson, GSK
Anne Kavanagh, AstraZeneca
John Pollard, Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Europe) Ltd
David Rugg, Rolls-Royce
Graham Smith, Shell Global Solutions
Alison Starr, GE Aviation
Ian Tucker, Unilever

Diamond Light Source

Diamond Light Source is the UK's national synchrotron science facility, located at the Harwell Science and Innovation Campus in Oxfordshire.

Copyright © 2020 Diamond Light Source


Diamond Light Source Ltd
Diamond House
Harwell Science & Innovation Campus
OX11 0DE

See on Google Maps

Diamond Light Source® and the Diamond logo are registered trademarks of Diamond Light Source Ltd

Registered in England and Wales at Diamond House, Harwell Science and Innovation Campus, Didcot, Oxfordshire, OX11 0DE, United Kingdom. Company number: 4375679. VAT number: 287 461 957. Economic Operators Registration and Identification (EORI) number: GB287461957003.