New non-executive board members

Diamond recently welcomed three new non-executive board members to the board of directors. The STFC-appointed directors, Dr Brian Bowsher and Professors Michael Fitzpatrick and Keith Wilson, assumed their posts in late November. Following completion of the necessary company forms, the new members attended their first Board meeting on 1st December.

Diamond Governance
Diamond Governance Model

Diamond’s CEO, Professor Andrew Harrison said: “Brian, Michael and Keith bring a wealth of valuable experience to the board, and we’re delighted to have them at the helm at what is a truly exciting moment for Diamond.

“Ten years on from first becoming operational, Diamond is well recognised for its services to the science community, from the life sciences and materials, through to environmental sciences and cultural heritage. But the development of synchrotron technology proceeds at a relentless pace, and the experience and services of our new board members will be crucial in helping us to maintain our position as a world-leading centre for synchrotron science and a cornerstone of a world-class site for scientific discovery and innovation at Harwell.”

On 1st November 2016 Brian became the new Chief Executive of the Science and Technology Facilities Council, having previously chaired its Finance Committee. Brian has led a number of major science activities in both the public and private sector. Most recently, he was the Managing Director of the National Physical Laboratory (NPL), the UK’s National Measurement Institute, from 2009 to his retirement in 2015.

Before joining NPL, Brian was on the Executive Board of AWE initially as Director of Research and Applied Science and then as Director Systems Engineering. After gaining his PhD in chemistry from the University of Southampton, he started his career in nuclear technology, working with the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority and AEA Technology, managing various nuclear safety research programmes including major projects in the USA and EU. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Physics and an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Measurement and Control.

Professor Michael Fitzpatrick is Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Executive Dean) at Coventry University, with responsibility for the portfolio of Engineering, Environment and Computing; and he also holds the Lloyd’s Register Foundation Chair of Structural Integrity and Systems Performance. He is a Chartered Engineer, a Chartered Scientist, a Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Michael studied Natural Sciences at the University of Cambridge, followed by a PhD in Materials Science and Metallurgy, also at Cambridge. He moved to The Open University in 1995, where he took a lead role in the major redesign of the OU’s engineering curriculum, and led the development of new partnerships with external collaborators.
His research centres on the application of advanced experimental methods to materials engineering applications, particularly in the nuclear power and aerospace industries. Current interests include the study of laser shock peening for life enhancement of aerospace and marine structures, and components in nuclear power plant. He has been a user of international neutron and synchrotron X-ray facilities for over 20 years, for the study of internal stress and damage development in metallic materials and components.
Professor Keith Wilson has been Professor of Chemistry at the University of York since 1995 and Head of the York Structural Biology Laboratory since 2002. He studied for his degree at Oriel College, Oxford and gained his DPhil with research undertaken in the Laboratory of Molecular Biophysics at Oxford under Professor Louis Johnson.
He continued at Oxford in various roles in the Laboratory and as Junior Research Fellow of Linacre College. He then worked as Senior Scientist at the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Genetics in Berlin between 1981 and 1983 with work that led to the first structure of an intact ribosomal protein, followed by two years as a lecturer in Physics in York.
Prof Wilson returned to Germany as Head of Protein Crystallography and Head of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Outstation in Hamburg between 1985 and 1997 during which time he pioneered the development of modern synchrotron data collection and its use for atomic resolution crystallography. His research in York focuses on the relation between structure and function in biologically active macromolecules using protein crystallography. His current interests include: methods development for structural biology; structure, function and mechanisms of enzymes; and structural insight into iron uptake mechanisms.
Professor Harrison concludes: “Diamond is one of the best places in the world to do science, and I’m confident that that the addition of Dr Bowsher and Profs Fitzpatrick and Wilson will help us to further grow our stellar reputation and continue to enhance our services to the wider science community.”

Diamond Light Source Directors