Diamond Annual Review 2021/22

Science Division Science Groups: Biological Cryo-Imaging Crystallography Imaging and Microscopy Macromolecular Crystallography Magnetic Materials Soft Condensed Matter Spectroscopy Structures and Surfaces Scientific Software, Controls & Computation Groups: Accelerator Control Systems Beamline Control Systems Data Acquisition Scientific Computing Scientific Software Detector Group Experimental Hall Labs Services Optics & Metrology Planning & Projects Office User Office Technical Division Accelerator Physics Diagnostics Engineering Insertion Devices Installation & Facility Management Operations Power Supplies Radiofrequency Systems Vacuum Finance and Corporate Services Corporate IT Commercial Management, Governance & Legal Finance Human Resources Procurement & Goods Handling Soft Facilities Chief Executive’s Office Communications, Engagement & Impact Industrial Liaison Safety, Health & Environment D iamond Light Source Ltd was established in 2002 as a joint venture limited company funded by the UK Government via the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), now under UK Research & Innovation (UKRI), and by the Wellcome Trust, owning 86% and 14% of the shares respectively. Diamond now employs 786 scientists, engineers, technicians and support staff from 44 countries worldwide. The Chief Executive andDirectors are advised by committees representing key stakeholder groups, including the Science Advisory Committee (SAC), Diamond Industrial Science Committe (DISCo) and Diamond User Committee (DUC). Diamond is free at the point of access for researchers accessing Diamond via peer review, and provided the results are published in the public domain for everyone’s benefit. Allocation of beamtime is via a peer review process to select proposals on the basis of scientific merit and technical feasibility. Twelve peer review panels meet twice a year to assess the proposals submitted for each six-month allocation period. Diamond also welcomes industrial researchers through a range of access modes including proprietary research. Board of Directors Prof. Sir Adrian Smith (Chairman) Prof. Andrew Harrison OBE Marshall Davies Prof. Michael Fitzpatrick Dr Morag Foreman Prof. Mark Thomson AndreaWard Prof. KeithWilson Company Secretary Dr Linda Gregory As at April 2022 Governance andManagement Prof. RichardWalker joined Diamond Light Source as Technical Director in January 2002. He was previously Director of the Light Sources Division at Sincrotrone Trieste in Italy, and prior to that he was a key member of the Daresbury Laboratory SRS team. Richard is a visiting Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford. AndreaWard joined Diamond as Director of Finance and Corporate Services in 2019, with 15 years’experience as a Senior Finance professional. During a 12-year tenure at Vertex Pharmaceuticals, she worked with the Board to lead finance and procurement functions in Europe, later moving to Canada with the business to assist with acquisition and commercialisation opportunities. Andrea has also worked at ResMed and the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation. Executive Prof. AndrewHarrison OBE took the helm as CEO of Diamond Light Source in January 2014. He was previously Director General of the Institut Laue- Langevin neutron source in Grenoble, France, where he had worked since 2006.With a background as an inorganic chemist and Professor of Solid State Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh, Andrew brings a wealth of experience of scientific leadership to the organisation. Andrewwas awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours Lists 2020 for services to science during the COVID-19 response. Prof. Laurent Chapon joined Diamond as Director of Physical Sciences in 2016 from the Institut Laue- Langevin in Grenoble, France.Whilst there, Laurent was Senior Fellow and Leader of the Diffraction Group for over five years. He is an expert inmaterials science as well as X-ray and neutron diffraction techniques. He was the first Diamond-II Programme Director and left Diamond in the beginning of 2022. Prof. Sir David Stuart is MRC Professor of Structural Biology at the University of Oxford, and Joint Head of the Division of Structural Biology at the Department of Clinical Medicine. He was appointed Director of Life Sciences at Diamond in 2008. His principal research interests include the structure of viruses and viral proteins as well as cellular proteins, especially those that interact with viruses. Dave was knighted in the NewYear Honours list 2021 for services to medical research and the scientific community. Outline Organisational Chart Staffing and Financial Information Summary of Financial Data 2010/11 2011/12 2012/13 2013/14 2014/15 2015/16 2016/17 2017/18 2018/19 2019/20 2020/21 2021/22 Operating Costs £m 33.5 36.5 39.9 42.5 44.5 54.6 56.9 62.8 64.5 65.7 69.2 68.7 Total Staff (Year End) 419 438 481 507 534 582 609 639 680 742 775 786 Capital Expenditure – Operations £m 8.6 5.1 8.0 7.5 6.2 8.0 10.5 12.8 17.4 17.8 24.1 21.2 Phase II £m 16.2 9.9 2.8 0.8 0.2 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Phase III £m 3.0 10.3 14.2 17.2 23.7 20.6 11.5 3.7 1.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 Other capital projects £m 4.8 5.6 7.3 4.3 5.3 1 2.1 2 Figures up to and including 2014/15 exclude VAT, thereafter figures include VAT. 128 129 D I A M O N D L I G H T S O U R C E A N N U A L R E V I E W 2 0 2 1 / 2 2 D I A M O N D L I G H T S O U R C E A N N U A L R E V I E W 2 0 2 1 / 2 2